Joe Dunthorne – The Adulterants

The Adulterants

Joe Dunthorne

Penguin Books
brož
nová kniha
178 stran

sleva 25 % 279 Kč

209 Kč 3 dny i

#kniha zdarma k objednávce #Beletrie

For readers of Roddy Doyle, Nick Hornby, and Mark Haddon, The Adulterants is a piercingly funny?and cringingly poignant?take on how hard it is to grow up and how hard it is when you don’t. Ray Morris is a tech journalist with a forgettable face, a tiresome manner, a small but dedicated group of friends, and a wife, Garthene, who is pregnant. He is a man who has never been punched above the neck. He has never committed adultery with his actual body. He has never been caught up in a riot, nor arrested, nor tagged by the state, nor become an international hate-figure. Not until the summer of 2011, when discontent is rising on the streets and within his marriage. Ray has noticed none of this. Not yet. The Adulterants would be a coming-of-age story if its protagonist could only forget that he is thirty-three years old. Throughout a series of escalating catastrophes, our deadpan antihero keeps up a merciless mental commentary on the foibles and failings of those around him, and the vicissitudes of modern urban life: internet trolls, buy-to-let landlords, open marriages, and the threat posed by more sensitive men. But the wonder of The Adulterants is how we feel ourselves rooting for Ray even as we acknowledge that he deserves everything he gets.

skrýt popis

For readers of Roddy Doyle, Nick Hornby, and Mark Haddon, The Adulterants is a piercingly funny?and cringingly poignant?take on how hard…

zobrazit celý popis

Prodáváme nové i použité knihy, některé z nich mají privilegium být vzácné.

Pokud máte krabici od banánů plnou knih a práší se na to, vykoupíme je.

Plnoknih s.r.o., Čáslavská 454/11, 284 01 Kutná Hora

+420 724 758 484